Turns out 'delete' doesn't quite mean the same thing to Facebook - 21 News Now, More Local News for Youngstown, Ohio -

Turns out 'delete' doesn't quite mean the same thing to Facebook as it does to you

Updated: July 3, 2013 01:43 PM
Image courtesy of Digital Trends Image courtesy of Digital Trends
  • More NewsMore>>

  • BREAKING NEWS

    Hostage released at the Trumbull County Jail

    Hostage released at the Trumbull County Jail

    Officials said three inmates tackled and handcuffed a corrections officer on the third floor of the jail.  The inmates are holding the officer hostage, and throughout Wednesday afternoon a peace officer has been negotiating with them to get a safe & peaceful ending.More >>
    Officials said three inmates tackled and handcuffed a corrections officer on the third floor of the jail.  The inmates are holding the officer hostage, and throughout Wednesday afternoon a peace officer has been negotiating with them to get a safe & peaceful ending.More >>
  • Suspect in Trumbull County jail hostage crisis facing death penalty case

    Suspect in Trumbull County jail hostage crisis facing death penalty case

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 8:55 PM EDT2014-04-24 00:55:14 GMT
    One of the three inmates identified as being involved in a hostage situation at the Trumbull County jail faces criminal charges that could bring the death penalty if convicted.Authorities say that 29-year-old David Martin of Cleveland is awaiting trial for the murder of Jeremy Cole in Warren in October, 2012.Martin was a neighbor of Cole who was shot to death at a home on Oak Circle SW. A woman was also wounded during the crime.The Trumbull County Grand Jury handed up a ten count indictment a...More >>
    One of the three inmates identified as being involved in a hostage situation at the Trumbull County jail faces criminal charges that could bring the death penalty if convicted.Authorities say that 29-year-old David Martin of Cleveland is awaiting trial for the murder of Jeremy Cole in Warren in October, 2012.Martin was a neighbor of Cole who was shot to death at a home on Oak Circle SW. A woman was also wounded during the crime.The Trumbull County Grand Jury handed up a ten count indictment a...More >>
  • Remembering Idora Park over the years

    Remembering Idora Park over the years

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 8:52 PM EDT2014-04-24 00:52:10 GMT
    This Saturday will mark the 30th anniversary of the devastating fire that led to the closing of the Idora Amusement Park. Glenn Stevens took a look back at Idora Park's history and the memories it made for generations. More >>
    This Saturday will mark the 30th anniversary of the devastating fire that led to the closing of the Idora Amusement Park. Glenn Stevens took a look back at Idora Park's history and the memories it made for generations. More >>


By Francis Bea
Provided by

Sometimes we want to delete our Facebook history – maybe just pieces of it, or maybe everything. Perhaps you just want to start fresh, or you're simply distrusting of Facebook with your information and want to get rid of old posts.

You'd hope that by clicking delete, your content is permanently removed. Apparently, that's not quite the case. New evidence suggests that Facebook might not really be deleting the posts you think you're getting rid of. In fact, sometimes these deleted Facebook posts are reappearing. 

A few users have discovered just how persistent Facebook has been. Laura (who withheld her last name) deleted her Facebook posts "one-by-one" in February 2012, fearful of the repercussions that Facebook's new Timeline (at the time) might bring. In October of that year, she logged into Facebook to discover that all of her Timeline content had been restored.

It's not unreasonable to assume that this issue was a bug, but after the second time around when Laura had once again painstakingly deleted all her content, she grew more suspicious. "I deleted all my posts, likes and comments. I also deleted all my photos and albums except two profile photos," Laura explains, telling us that her profile was clean with the exception of two photographs and a few basic personal details from the About section. Returning to her Facebook account months later, she discovered this month that her deleted posts popped up once again.

Scarier yet is the fact that this isn't an isolate incident. There are other Facebook users who have encountered the very same scenario, with their deleted posts coming back to them. Also, there was an incident in which old posts were resurrected to the top of your profile as well. A lawsuit was filed against Facebook in Ireland in 2011 for this exact issue: 

"About half a year to a year ago I decided that I wanted to delete as much of my personal data as possible on my facebook page. I used an automatic routine that automatically clicked on all "X"-buttons (labeled "remove post") on my Facebook page. The following prompt clearly states that the content gets "deleted" (see attachment 03). After the routine was running for a while, all content was gone. From this point on I was continuously deleting all new content manually. In two or three cases old content kept coming back to my wall after I deleted it weeks earlier."

Facebook's Terms and Conditions shed some light on why its users are experiencing restored content:

"When you delete IP content, it is deleted in a manner similar to emptying the recycle bin on a computer," the Terms and Conditions page states. "However, you understand that removed content may persist in backup copies for a reasonable period of time (but will not be available to others)."

Even Facebook admits that your content is actually still there even if you've technically deleted it. However the content popping up for a second time for a third round of deleting is unexpected.

We reached out to Facebook about the issue, whose representative only pointed out Facebook's Terms and Conditions page, and highlighted the fact that that when you actually delete content on Facebook, it only goes away if it's permanently deleted – which is tricky. The problem with permanently deleting anything on Facebook is the fact that nothing is actually seemingly deleted. Just simply "deleting" content stores the content to a backup Facebook drive temporarily. As Facebook puts it

"Some of this information is permanently deleted from our servers; however, some things can only be deleted when you permanently delete your account."

Deleting your entire account works in a similar manner. Users can "delete" their accounts; however accessing the account again reactivates the account.

They also made sure to point out that the issue may stem from a bug on Laura's profile page, but couldn't be sure without checking out her account. Facebook engineers however are on the case, and on a preliminary look suggested that a better way to delete content is not by going through the Timeline, but instead through your Activity Log.

None of this, however, makes it clear why Laura's content is reappearing.

As hard as you try, it appears that you can never actually "get rid" of Facebook short of never having used it in the first place.

[UPDATE]

Per her comments, Laura, clarified that not all her deleted posts were restored – though a great deal were. She also adds that when deleted posts and comments she did so through her News Feed, and that she missed some she thought she had deleted originally.

This article was originally posted on Digital Trends

Content provided by
INFORMATIONAL DISCLAIMER The information contained on or provided through this site is intended for general consumer understanding and education only and is not intended to be and is not a substitute for professional financial or accounting advice. Always seek the advice of your accountant or other qualified personal finance advisor for answers to any related questions you may have. Use of this site and any information contained on or provided through this site is at your own risk and any information contained on or provided through this site is provided on an "as is" basis without any representations or warranties.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WFMJ. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms