Local counties declared as agricultural disaster areas - WFMJ.com News weather sports for Youngstown-Warren Ohio

Local counties declared as agricultural disaster areas

Posted: Updated:

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated two Ohio counties as agricultural natural disaster areas, making certain farmers and other agricultural producers in the counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency. 

Mercer County in Pennsylvania was designated as a primary natural disaster area, after the excessive rain that occurred there July 3rd through July 13th.

Mahoning and Trumbull counties are also eligible because they are contiguous with Mercer.

The counties were designated as natural disaster areas on August 7th.
To qualify for loans, farmers must be unable to obtain credit from commercial sources and meet eligibility requirements. 

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part or all of their actual losses. 

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.


Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WFMJ. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms