Another university in Ohio bans use of tobacco on campus - News weather sports for Youngstown-Warren Ohio

Another university in Ohio bans use of tobacco on campus

Posted: Updated:

DAYTON, Ohio (AP) - Another university in Ohio is now officially tobacco-free.

The Dayton Daily News reports ( ) that Wright State University's new policy took effect Saturday at the school's campuses in Dayton and Celina. The policy prohibits smoking and the use of other tobacco products.

The University of Akron and Kent State University also have bans on tobacco products that took effect Saturday. Ohio State University and Miami University already were tobacco-free.

Wright State made the decision to ban tobacco products last November. The policy was approved about five years after the school first considered the move.

The state's higher education department recommended in 2012 that all public universities in Ohio be tobacco-free.

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WFMJ. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms