Complaint: Mahoning Probate Judge wrongly presided over 200 case - WFMJ.com News weather sports for Youngstown-Warren Ohio

Complaint: Mahoning Probate Judge wrongly presided over 200 cases

Posted: Updated:
Judge Rusu Judge Rusu
YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio -

A complaint filed with the Ohio Supreme Court alleges that Mahoning County Probate Court Judge Robert Rusu has failed to recuse himself from more than 200 cases over the course of the last several years. 

The complaint filed by the Disciplinary Counsel alleges that Judge Rusu continued to preside over cases in which he had previously been an attorney. 

According to the filing, Judge Rusu's decisions in those cases including appointing fiduciaries, approving legal fees for his own work (or his previous law firm), approving guardian fees, settlements, addressing cases with delinquencies, approving magistrate decisions, and waiving guardianship matters. 

The complaint asks that Judge Rusu be "sanctioned accordingly."

Judge Rusu has issued a statement in response to the complaint. That full statement can be found here: 


In smaller counties like Mahoning, a few law firms often handle most of the work in the local Probate Court. After 20 plus years as an attorney in probate practice, I handled more than 1,300 such cases, some of which are still pending today. The people of this county elected me judge because of that wide probate experience.

Recently, I was told by Supreme Court officials that I must ask for a special appointment of a visiting judge to attend to every action in these cases, even the most minor matters that are typically handed by court staff with little or no interaction from the judge. The rules which govern judicial conduct require a judge who has previously served as a lawyer in a "matter in controversy" disqualify himself from sitting as a judge in the matter. Because the probate matters which came before me on which I had previously been a lawyer did not involve a controversy, I did not believe I had to disqualify myself. I interpreted "controversy" in the common sense of the word – a matter in which there was a dispute, disagreement, or argument. In probate cases there is seldom an adverse party. I have come to understand that I should have disqualified myself from all matters in which I had previously been a lawyer.

I am taking three steps in response to this situation. First, I am disqualifying myself from all cases in which I was previously a lawyer. Second, I am admitting my previous interpretation of the rule and my conduct in the disciplinary process and working toward a swift resolution. Third, I will work with the Ohio Association of Probate Judges to highlight this issue and determine how to address these situations in the future so as to bring clarification for the benefit of other probate judges throughout the state. 

Rusu was appointed to the Probate Court position in 2014 by Governor John Kasich, after the conviction of former Judge Mark Belinky. 

Rusu was then elected that same year. 

Prior to his appointment, Judge Rusu practiced exclusively in the area of Probate Administrations, Guardianships, Estate Planning, Medicaid, and issues regarding aging.
 

  • More From wfmj.comHot ClicksMore>>

  • MGM sues Vegas shooting victims in push to avoid liability

    MGM sues Vegas shooting victims in push to avoid liability

    Wednesday, July 18 2018 1:55 PM EDT2018-07-18 17:55:15 GMT
    MGM Resorts International has sued hundreds of victims of the deadliest mass shooting in modern U.S. history in a bid to avoid liability for the gunfire that rained down from its Mandalay Bay casino-resort in Las...More >>
    MGM Resorts International has sued hundreds of victims of the deadliest mass shooting in modern U.S. history in a bid to avoid liability for the gunfire that rained down from its Mandalay Bay casino-resort in Las Vegas.More >>
  • Smoke clogs Yosemite Valley as firefighters battle blaze

    Smoke clogs Yosemite Valley as firefighters battle blaze

    Wednesday, July 18 2018 1:16 PM EDT2018-07-18 17:16:12 GMT
    (AP Photo/Noah Berger). The Ferguson Fire burns along a ridgeline in unincorporated Mariposa County, Calif, on Monday, July 16, 2018.(AP Photo/Noah Berger). The Ferguson Fire burns along a ridgeline in unincorporated Mariposa County, Calif, on Monday, July 16, 2018.
    Hot and dry weather is hindering efforts to slow the growth of a wildfire near Yosemite National Park that killed a California firefighter.More >>
    Hot and dry weather is hindering efforts to slow the growth of a wildfire near Yosemite National Park that killed a California firefighter.More >>
  • Hawaii lava boat tours continue after explosion, injuries

    Hawaii lava boat tours continue after explosion, injuries

    Wednesday, July 18 2018 12:18 PM EDT2018-07-18 16:18:44 GMT
    (Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources via AP). This photo provided by the Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources shows damage to the roof of a tour boat after an explosion sent lava flying through the roof off the Big Island of Hawa...(Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources via AP). This photo provided by the Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources shows damage to the roof of a tour boat after an explosion sent lava flying through the roof off the Big Island of Hawa...
    Hawaii tour boat operators plan to continue taking visitors to see lava, but will follow the Coast Guard's revised policy and stay farther away after an explosion caused molten rock to barrel through the roof of a...More >>
    Hawaii tour boat operators plan to continue taking visitors to see lava, but will follow the Coast Guard's revised policy and stay farther away after an explosion caused molten rock to barrel through the roof of a vessel, injuring 23 people.More >>
  • More NewsMore>>

  • Five paving projects in Trumbull County to begin this fall

    Five paving projects in Trumbull County to begin this fall

    Wednesday, July 18 2018 2:03 PM EDT2018-07-18 18:03:06 GMT
    Paving projects totaling close to $1 million are set to begin this fall in Trumbull County. The bid by Shelly and Sands Inc. to complete the second wave of road construction in the county at $1,093,675 was approved by Trumbull County commissioners Wednesday. The list of county roads includes: Logan Way between state Route 304 in Liberty and Warner Road. Ridge Road from King Graves Road in Vienna south for 3,568 feet. Niles-Warren River Road from DeForest Road in Weathersfield s...More >>
    Paving projects totaling close to $1 million are set to begin this fall in Trumbull County. The bid by Shelly and Sands Inc. to complete the second wave of road construction in the county at $1,093,675 was approved by Trumbull County commissioners Wednesday. The list of county roads includes: Logan Way between state Route 304 in Liberty and Warner Road. Ridge Road from King Graves Road in Vienna south for 3,568 feet. Niles-Warren River Road from DeForest Road in Weathersfield s...More >>
  • One dead in Youngstown motorcycle crash

    One dead in Youngstown motorcycle crash

    Wednesday, July 18 2018 12:30 PM EDT2018-07-18 16:30:14 GMT

    Youngstown Police traffic investigators say one person died after his motorcycle collided with a car on the city's East Side late Tuesday. 

    More >>

    Youngstown Police traffic investigators say one person died after his motorcycle collided with a car on the city's East Side late Tuesday. 

    More >>
  • State Street opening for Waterfire

    PennDOT addresses detour 'confusion' in Sharon

    PennDOT addresses detour 'confusion' in Sharon

    Wednesday, July 18 2018 12:28 PM EDT2018-07-18 16:28:10 GMT

    Follow the signs and you'll be fine. That's the message from PennDOT to drivers who say they're confused by the detour around construction work on East State Street. 

    More >>

    Follow the signs and you'll be fine. That's the message from PennDOT to drivers who say they're confused by the detour around construction work on East State Street. 

    More >>
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WFMJ. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms