All American Conference Blue Tier schools send letter of withdra - News weather sports for Youngstown-Warren Ohio

All American Conference Blue Tier schools send letter of withdrawal

Posted: Updated:

The seven schools that make up the Blue Tier of the All American Conference have sent a letter of withdrawal effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year.

The letter is signed by superintendents of  Brookfield, Champion, LaBrae, Newton Falls, Campbell, Crestview, and Liberty.

In the letter to Commissioner Richard King, it said, "Each of us is proud of our membership in the AAC, grateful for the opportunities that the conference has provided our student-athletes, and honored to be affiliated with an athletic conference with strong stature in Northeast Ohio."

The letter went on, "As the conference has undergone realignment and changes in its membership over the last two years, the members of the Blue Tier have contemplated whether continued membership satisfies all our needs. The Blue Tier schools have been invited to merge with the Mahoning Valley Athletic Conference. We find that this opportunity is in our best interests for the near and distant future."

Up until 2018, the All American Conference had 23 schools broken into four divisions.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2019 WFMJ. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms