The Youngstown State men's basketball team was predicted to finish sixth in the Horizon League in a vote by the league's head coaches, athletics communictions directors and selected media. Sophomore Darius Quisenberry as also selected to the preseason All-Horizon League Second-Team.

Wright State was predicted to win the Horizon League with 28 first-place votes and 350 points. Northern Kentucky received five first-place votes and 295 points and was picked second. UIC was third with one first-place vote and 280 points while Oakland was selected fourth with a first-place vote and 229 points. Green Bay was picked fifth with 207 points followed by the Penguins with 186 points, Milwaukee at seventh with 146 points, Detroit Mercy was eighth with 133 points, IUPUI had 92 points and Cleveland State, who had one first-place vote, was picked 10th with 62 points.

Quisenberry, a 2018-19 All-Horizon League Second-Team selection, was the first YSU freshman to earn all-league honors. He scored a YSU Division I freshman record 441 points and led the team in scoring and assists with 120. Quisenberry averaged 13.8 points, 2.9 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game. He scored in double figures 21 times, had eight 20-point performances and two 30-point games. The Springfield, Ohio, native set the YSU freshman record with 51 3-pointers made.

He also ranked 15th in the Horizon League in scoring, seventh in assists per game, eighth with 1.3 steals per game, fourth in assist-to-turnover ratio with 1.8 and 11th in free-throw percentage at 79.7 percent.

Youngstown State opens the 2019-20 season against Thiel on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

2019-20 #HLMBB Preseason Poll Results
Pl.           School (1st-place) – Votes
1.            Wright State (28) – 395
2.            Northern Kentucky (5) – 295
3.            UIC (1) – 280
4.            Oakland (1) – 229
5.            Green Bay – 207
6.            Youngstown State – 186
7.            Milwaukee – 146
8.            Detroit Mercy – 133
9.            IUPUI – 92
10.          Cleveland State (1) – 62

Preseason Player of the Year
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy

First Team (alphabetical order by school)
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Jalen Tate, Northern Kentucky
Xavier Hill-Mais, Oakland
Tarkus Ferguson, UIC
Loudon Love, Wright State

Second Team (alphabetical order by school)
JayQuan McCloud, Green Bay
Tyler Sharpe, Northern Kentucky
Marcus Ottey, UIC
Bill Wampler, Wright State
Darius Quisenberry, Youngstown Sta