Vindicator file photo /  October 27, 1977 | R. Frank Huntley, right, presented Youngstown Buckeye Elks fezzes to Mahoning County Commissioners George Bindas and John Palermo 45 years ago.

October 26 

1997: Renovation of the 100-year-old Buhl Mansion in Sharon by businessman James E. Winner is almost complete, and it will open in December as the Buhl Mansion Guest House and Spa. 

Employees at Mahoning County's South Side Annex -- the former Treasure Island department store -- complain about the lack of hot water in the building and other signs of deterioration. 

Jim Graham, the new president of UAW Local 1112 at the Lordstown General Motors Complex, says he will work to dispel negative stereotypes that many associate with the workers there. 

1982: The state's architect for the Stambaugh Stadium project says 1,000 seats that have been damaged by fans will be repaired and all brackets on the bench seats will be reinforced. But he said it will be YSU's responsibility to police fans until repairs can be made, and if there are injuries in the meantime, those will fall on  YSU. 

The Mahoning County Republican Party hosts a roast of Gov. James A. Rhodes, who is nearing the end of his fourth term.

Seven members of Boy Scout Troop 106 in Lake Milton clean up Riverbank Cemetery, also known as Old Dutch Cemetery, adjacent to Spring Lakes Golf Course. The cemetery dates to 1820 and contains about 50 graves of pioneers, including at least one veteran of the Revolutionary War. 

1972: Al Bright, director of the Black Studies Department at Youngstown State University, will meet with the Community Action Council to work on a way of providing textbooks for needy YSU students. 

Wean United will share in major contracts for an $85 million hot strip rolling mill being built in Yugoslavia. 

1947: The bodies of the first 11 of Youngstown's heroes of the war in Europe to be returned home will arrive aboard a transport ship in New York harbor. 

Paul Wick, president of the Myron Wick Estate Co., is awarded the Silver Antelope, the highest regional Boy Scouting award in recognition of his leadership in the organization.