Ohio Governor Mike DeWine signed an order Tuesday that government officials say effectively bans new opioids in Ohio.

The governor's order now allows the Ohio Pharmacy board to classify seven kinds of opioids as Schedule I drugs. The federal DEA defines Schedule I drugs as substances which have no accepted medical use and have the potential to create a public health hazard.

Other Schedule I drugs in Ohio are heroin, LSD (commonly called acid) and MDMA (commonly called Molly or ecstasy).

Schedule I drugs all carry the same criminal punishments.