Newton Falls has declared itself a Statuary Sanctuary City for historical statues.

City Manager David Lynch signed the proclamation Saturday declaring a general amnesty for statues of George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson, Ulysses S. Grant, Patrick Henry, Francis Scott Key, Theodore Roosevelt, and Christopher Columbus.

Newton Falls has volunteered to accept the statues of these historical figures that have been removed throughout the country and place them in a location of honor in the community.

The proclamation says the great leaders of our country were flawed in many ways but made great achievements, citing the founding of the country and the ending of slavery as some of the achievements.

The full proclamation can be viewed below.