Mahoning Valley Young Professionals have revealed the nominees for its "25 Under 35" award and 21 WFMJ is proud to announce our very own Sydney Canty has been named as a nominee.

Sydney joined the 21 News crew in August of 2020 as a reporter, as well as an anchor for WFMJ Weekend Today since 2022. She says it's an honor to receive the nomination.

Sydney's full statement is below:

"I am very passionate about the work I do for my community as a journalist. It is my job to, with integrity, keep my community informed, shine a light on injustices across the Valley, and hold those in power accountable to the ones they swore to protect and serve."

"I'm truly so honored that this work is being recognized and I will continue to use the platform God gave me to serve those around me." 

Sydney is one of 25 nominees for the award. The other nominees are as follows:

- Ashlyn Symone Baker (Signatures By Symone Brand Design Studio)

- Thomas D. Crew (Premier Bank)

- Shannon Flynn (Flynn Auto Group)

- Thomas Sumit Kovoor (Anayaa Investment Group, Bloom Wealth)

- Anthony Marchionda (Burgan Real Estate)

- Joan Stebelton (Brouse McDowell LPA)

- Tyler Wolfe (Winner Aviation) 

- Dr. Benjamin Brocker (Mercy Health)

- Amelia D'Angelo Gavolas (Platt Insurance Group)

- Marvin Logan Jr. (Oh Wow! Children's Center for Science & Technology)

- Moriah McCorkle (AVI Food Systems)

- John Stoops (Cohen and Company)

- Nicholas Dinello (Stryker)

- Paige Genova (Vital Pelvic Health & Wellness)

- Shea MacMillan (Platz Realty Group)

- Michael Mock (Premier Bank)

- Kaneesha Tensley (Boardman Police Department)

- Danielle Covelli (Covelli Enterprises)

- Tra'Von Eley (Tra's Gourmet Sandwiches)

- O'Keal Gist (Go Mortgage / Nationwide Mortgage Bankers)

- Melissa Maiorano (Youngstown Warren Regional Chamber

- Levi Smith (Youngstown State University)

- Shomore Wright (Ohio Secretary of State) 

According to MVYP's website, the award recognizes those under 35 who greatly impacted the Mahoning Valley not only in the work they do in their career but also through the hours they give to various non-profits.

21 WFMJ meteorologist Andrew DiPaolo was previously nominated for the award in 2022.