Voters selected Michael Rulli as the Republican choice for Ohio's US Representative 6th District for both the unexpired and full-term races, while Democratic voters selected Michael Kripchak as the person to challenge Rulli come November.

The race for Ohio's US Representative 6th District is an unusual race.

Former Rep. Bill Johnson vacated the 6th District seat before the term expired at the end of the year after accepting a new role as the president of Youngstown State University earlier this year. 

This led to voters having to fill the unexpired term and for the candidates for the special election that will take place on June 11 in Mahoning, Columbiana, Stark, Carroll, Tuscarawas, Jefferson, Harrison, Belmont, Monroe, Noble, and Washington Counties. The full-term election of the winners in those races will be held in November.

Tonight's Republican winner for the 6th District in the race was Michael Rulli, defeating State Rep. Reggie Stoltzfus and Dr. Rick Tsai.

In the Democratic race for the same seat, Michael Kripchak defeated Rylan Finzer. Michael Kripchak is from Youngstown and served in the U.S. Air Force from 2000 to 2007.

The winners of the unexpired special primary now advance to a June 11 special general election, while the winners of the regular primary race will face each other in November for the term beginning in 2025.

Ohio Republican Senator Michael Rulli has represented the 33rd District, which includes all of Columbiana and Mahoning counties, since 2019. State Representative Reggie Stoltzfus has represented the 50th District since 2019. Dr. Rick Tsai is a chiropractor from East Palestine.

To see the complete results for all of Tuesday's Primary races, go to the election page.