As part of a pastoral plan aimed at developing effective ministries in Mahoning Valley, the Catholic Diocese of Youngstown has renamed five parishes in Trumbull County.

Beginning July 1, Saint Stephen Parish and Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish in Niles will now be named Saint Pope John XXIII.

In Warren, Blessed Sacrament Parish, Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Parish and Saint Mary and Saint Joseph Parish will move forward as Saint Teresa of Calcutta.

Parishes in Portage and Stark counties were also impacted by this renaming.

The criteria that went into creating this plan included number of parishioners, arish finances, population shifts in the region and more, according to a news release from the Catholic Diocese of Youngstown.

As a result of the pastoral plan, almost all of the diocese's 80 parishes are now part of a collaborative unit or exist as a multi-site parish.