Student teams from Youngstown State University have used their knowledge, skills, and talents to come home with the highest awards since the university has been taking part in national engineering competitions.

According to Kenneth Vigorito, the President of the YSU American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Student Chapter, YSU’s  Steel Bridge and Concrete Canoe teams won second place nationally in their respective competitions.

The Concrete Canoe team competed in the "ASCE Concrete Canoe Competition" at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville on June 10-12.

The challenge is to engineer and build a canoe made of concrete that will still float and compete with concrete canoes built by other teams.

Below are their awards:

  • Second Place: Overall
  • First Place: Final Product
  • Second Place: Men's Sprint Race
  • Second Place: Women's Slalom
  • Second Place: Oral Presentation
  • Third Place: Women's Sprint Race
  • Fourth Place: Co-ed Sprint Race
  • Fifth Place: Design Paper

Team members include Emily Honthy, Kayla Mathias, Elizabeth Williams, Morgan Scott, Bailey Brothag, Cassandra Snopik, Michael Sandora, Evan Fink, Alicia Lonsinger, Joe Remish, Christine Zheng, and Jersey Gorby(Team Captain).

 The Steel Bridge Team took second place overall, and first place in aesthetics in the American Institute of Steel Construction Student Steel Bridge Competition at the University of California San Diego on June 2-3.

Teams were tasked with designing, fabricating, and constructing a conceptual scaled steel bridge to serve as a hypothetical crossing in the San Diego National Wildlife Refuge. The bridge must be able to support the weight of pedestrians, cyclists, and equestrians as well as maintenance and park vehicles.

As the location was a wildlife refuge, students also had to respect the existing habitat and consider that no construction activity could take place within the river.

Below are the Awards:

  • Second Place: Overall
  • First Place: Aesthetics
  • Third Place: Economy

Team members include Alec Hamilton, Nathan Chalus,  Zachary Glavic(Team Captain), Klea Shehu, Michael Sandora(Builder), Marshall Sarisky(Co-Captain), Jake Huzyak, and Kenneth Vigorito(Chapter President).