The Turning Foundation and The Raymond John Wean Foundation have awarded 13 grants worth more than $50,000. 

The 13 Innovative Teacher Mini-Grants were given to instructors in Ashtabula, Columbiana, Mahoning, and Trumbull counties. 

Grant recipients will receive up to $5,000, with a grand total being given of $53,497. 

Grant applications that connected creativity and innovation to student achievement and school improvement and develop partnerships between schools and classrooms or businesses were given selection priority. 

"The applications this year showed an impressive level of innovation," John Wilson, Turning Foundation director, said, "It is a privilege to provide funding for projects that will have a positive impact on student success."

This year's recipients were, Tracy Archuleta of Jefferson Senior High and Middle School, Heather Floran of McGuffey Elementary (Youngstown City Schools), Amy Gordiejew of Taft Elementary (Youngstown City Schools), Kelly Hutchison of Warren City Schools, Haylie Keylor of Champion Central Elementary, Jaclyn Kuntz of Struthers Middle School, David Murduck of Champion Middle School, Tia Phillips of Willard PK-8 (Warren City Schools), Jill Redmond of McGuffey PK-8 (Warren City Schools), Heather Smith of Rayen Early College Middle School (Youngstown City Schools), Maria Stratis of Youngstown Rayen Early College (Youngstown City Schools), Eleanna Vlahos-Hall of Jefferson PK-8 (Warren City Schools) and Amy Walters of Paul C. Bunn Elementary (Youngstown City Schools). 

More information on the recipients and their projects is available on the Turning Foundation website